Virtual Gala

Mandy Patinkin hosted an event for the Friends of the Arava Institute to support the environmental and peace-building efforts of the Arava Institute for Environmental Studies.

SUNDAY, JUNE 27, 2021

This year marks the Arava Institute’s 25th anniversary. While this event was first conceived as a celebration, the recent violence in Gaza and the West Bank, as well as within Israel, reminds us how much work must happen to achieve peace. For 25 years, the Arava Institute has pursued environmental cooperation which plants the seeds for trust, the building blocks for peace. At this Virtual Gala, an international audience gathered to recognize the cross-border partnerships we have developed to address environmental challenges and the opportunities for hope in the current Middle East reality. 


MANDY PATINKIN is an award-winning actor and singer, recognized for performances on the stage, screen, television as well as a recording artist. Most recently, he starred in the award-winning series, Homeland.

Support the Fund for the Future


Friends of the Arava Institute’s Peacemaker Award recognizes a visionary whose efforts promote reconciliation and peace-building efforts between Israelis and Palestinians. FAI is pleased to present the Honorable Nita M. Lowey with the first Peacemaker Award in recognition of her ongoing efforts as Chairwoman of the House Appropriations Committee towards these efforts, culminating in the recently passed bi-partisan Nita M. Lowey Middle East Partnership for Peace Act, an historic piece of legislation which will significantly expand such programs in the region.

The Honorable Nita M. Lowey

The Honorable Nita M. Lowey served in the U.S. House of Representatives from New York from 1989-2021, and most recently was the first woman to chair the House Appropriations Committee.

Ambassador Dennis Ross

Ambassador Dennis Ross

Ambassador Dennis Ross is counselor and William Davidson Distinguished Fellow at The Washington Institute for Near East Policy. For more than twelve years, Ambassador Ross played a leading role in shaping U.S. involvement in the Middle East peace process and dealing directly with the parties in negotiations.

A letter of support from Rep. Ted Deutch, D-FL


Comments from Comedian 

Sarah Silverman

Comedian Sarah Silverman

Performances from



Mira Awad
Achinoam Nini

Host Committee

(In Formation)

Ted and Cheryl Banks

Eric Berzon and Danielle Ruymaker

Dan and Claire Caine

Frank Chudnow and Margie Patlak

Jon and Rabbi Carol Harris-Shapiro

Paul Isaac

Gary and Deborah Korus

Roberta Landau

Craig Margolis and Carrie Flaxman

Rabbi Anat Moskowitz and Jeffrey Bain

Sylvia Neil and Dan Fischel

Stephen and Laura Olson

Hershel and Betsy Richman

David Roberts and Sue Fischlowitz

Marcee and Mark Samberg

David and Alena Schwaber

Peter and Deborah Wexler

Leadership Sponsors

(In Formation)

Amplify Partners Consultants and Advisors

Jane Barnet and Paul Gottsegen

Fred Baurer and Sharon Pollak

Rosalyn Becker

Steve and Gita Berman

Michael Bien

Eve Biskind Klothen and Ken Klothen

Century Bank 

Brett and Heidi Cohen

Sharon Cohen and Eric Barker

Sonia and James Cummings

Mark Druy and Johanna Rothman

Lori and Michael Gilman

Jason and Dena Glasgow

Debbie Goldman

Adam and Beth Goldstein

Bob Goodman and Jayne Lipman

Steve Greenberg and Jennifer Sylvor

Ethan Grossman

Phyllis Hammer

The Haverford Trust Company

Debby and Ted Jewett

Valerie Joseph and David Haas

Honey Kessler Amado

George and Barbara Kramer

Michael Needle

Miriam Newman and Michael Pinnolis

Jack and Andrea Platt

Paula and Azzy Reckess

Howie and Susie Rodenstein

Robert Schloss and Emily Sack

Lori Schuldiner Schor and Joshua Schor

Stephen and Patricia Segal

Joanne Shapiro

Paul Silberberg

Ann Stehney

Chet and Rita Stein

Joan Tabb Waisbein and David Waisbein

Harvey and Ann Tettlebaum

Ken Toltz

Sandy Zane and Ned Bennett


Platinum Level

Allen & Overy LLP

Gold Level

Ninedot Energy
RBC Wealth Management

Silver Level

Event Co-Chairs

Debra Aaron

David Arfin and Madeline Chaleff

Janine and Edward Biskind

David Camp and Gwen Borowsky

Fran Caplan and David Eisenberg

Mindy and Rabbi Jeffrey Glickman

Amy Goldman and Joel Brill

David and Brenda Jaffe

Michael and Laurie Marcus

Miriam May and Shaye Cohen

Jeffrey Menick

Shai and Judy Robkin

Steve and Penny Sanderson

Karen Schapiro and Douglas Frazer

For more information, please contact:

Rachel Kalikow
Director of Development